In March 2019 Florida’s Medical Cannabis program took a huge leap forward with the legalization of smokable cannabis flower for qualified patients. At the urging of Governor Rick Desantis, the Florida legislature passed forward Senate Bill 182 redefining the medical use of marijuana to include in the form for smoking. The bill also provided clarification for the possession and use of smoking devices purchased outside of a MMTC (dispensary).
How Do I Get Smokable Flower in Florida?
Established patients in the Florida program need to see their physician to sign the updated consent form and discuss the risks associated with smoking cannabis. This MUST BE COMPLETED IN PERSON. You will also need to supply your physician with dates related to your cannabis use and effectiveness of various delivery routes. It is standard practice to charge a small fee for the associated administrative costs to add smokable cannabis in between certification visits.
Patients new to the Florida program are eligible to receive a recommendation for smokable flower, but it is up to the individual physician. While many physicians know the benefits of full plant medicine, others are a little more hesitant. Some physicians are refusing to recommend smokable flower all together, while others will only recommend it for established patients. Before scheduling with a new physician it is good practice to ask about their policy regarding smokable cannabis.
Smokable Flower Things to Know
HOW DO I KNOW IF MY DOCTOR RECOMMENDED SMOKABLE FLOWER?
UPDATED 6/29/19: The Department of Health updated the State Registry system to include smokable flower as it’s own type of medical cannabis. After July 12th, patients MUST have their smoking recommendation updated to the new system to continue purchasing smokable flower.
Allowable Smokable Recommendation Example for Dispensation Before 7/12/19:
Navigate to your current and scheduled orders in the State Registry under the YOUR PROFILE tab. Choose Medical Marijuana for the date range in question and click EXPAND. You may have to look across multiple pages to find the proper date. In the notes section you should see text similar to this:
“This patient is certified for the medical use of marijuana in a form for smoking not to exceed 2.5 ounces per 35 days. Certification start date: 05/07/19 Certification end date:06/11/19 Certification start date: 06/11/19 Certification end date: 07/16/19.”
Allowable Smokable Recommendation Example After 7/12/19:
Smokable orders and certifications entered into the State Registry prior to the update launched 6/28/19 will need to be manually converted to the new system by your physician. PATIENTS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PURCHASE SMOKABLE CANNABIS AFTER 7/12/19 WITHOUT AN UPDATED RECOMMENDATION. To see if you have an updated smokable recommendation navigate to your current and scheduled orders in the State Registry under the YOUR PROFILE tab. You may have to click the page numbers on the bottom to find your current orders. Choose Smoking Marijuana for the date range in question and click EXPAND. You will see your available smoking balance.
State law limits smokable flower purchases to 2.5 ounces every 35 days, but allows patients to posses up to 4 ounces of smokable flower at a time. Physicians do have the authority to recommend amounts lower than this legal limit.
HOW DO I KNOW HOW MUCH SMOKABLE FLOWER I HAVE AVAILABLE TO PURCHASE?
Prior to the updated system noted above, you will need to add your dispensation history each 35 day period and subtract that from your authorized amount (likely 2.5 ounces). After the update, you can navigate to your active smokable marijuana tab and view the amount remaining (see image above) in your dispensation history.
WHERE CAN I PURCHASE SMOKABLE FLOWER IN FLORIDA?
The majority of operating MMTCs are selling smokable flower. Vidacann, Rise, and Muv are my personal favorites. For an overview of my recommendations check out this video.
MMTC’s actively dispensing flower as of 6/18/19:
Liberty Health Sciences
Fluent (formerly Knox)
DO I HAVE TO PURCHASE MY SMOKING DEVICE AT A MMTC?
No. The update to Florida law included a provision clarifying that patients may use devices purchased outside of the dispensary settings like smoke shops and online vendors.
WHERE CAN I SMOKE MY MEDICAL CANNABIS?
You can smoke your medicine in private. Florida law prohibits patients from consuming smokable cannabis in vehicles, boats, aircraft, public spaces, and/or enclosed indoor workplaces.
WHERE CAN I POSSESS MY MEDICAL CANNABIS?
You are permitted to possess smokable cannabis, just like other forms of medical cannabis, anywhere within the State of Florida unless otherwise restricted by the property owner. Use is restricted as stated above. It is recommended to keep smokable cannabis in original packaging when carrying outside of your home.
DO I HAVE TO GIVE UP MY OTHER DELIVERY ROUTES TO GET SMOKABLE CANNABIS?
No! While physicians are required to provide documentation to the State that includes the effectiveness of different delivery methods in order to recommend smokable cannabis on your behalf, this does not restrict them from continuing to recommend those other routes. Like many aspects of Florida’s program, this is still up to physician’s discretion. If your doctor places any restrictions on delivery routes it may be a sign to find a new doctor.
IS THERE A 10% THC CAP ON SMOKABLE FLOWER?
NO. Fortunately attempts to restrict THC content of smokable flower did not pass through the legislative process. Most medical cannabis flower in Florida is in the 15-30% THC range.